Is drug paraphernalia a felony in Illinois?

Is drug paraphernalia a felony in Illinois?

Possession Of Drug Paraphernalia Illinois Laws It makes up a Class 4 felony, with as much as three years in jail and $25,000 in fines. If the seller is age 18 or older, and the sale is made to a minor, it is charged as a Class 3 felony, with as much as five years in jail and $25,000 in fines.

What is considered drug paraphernalia in Illinois?

In Illinois, the Drug Paraphernalia Control Act defines drug paraphernalia as any materials or equipment used in the illegal production, processing, packaging, storing, hiding, testing, or use of drugs.

How long do you go to jail for drug possession in Illinois?

15 GRAMS TO 100 GRAMS Felony Up to $500,000 Fine &/or 6 to 30 Years in Pen.
100 GRAMS TO 400 GRAMS Felony Up to $500,000 or Street Value &/or 9 to 40 Years in Pen.
400 GRAMS TO 900 GRAMS Felony Up to $500,000 Fine or Street Value &/or 12 to 50 Years Pen.

What is offense in possession of drug paraphernalia?

misdemeanor offense
Possession of drug paraphernalia is a misdemeanor offense, which could result in a criminal record if you are convicted of this crime.

Is paraphernalia illegal in Illinois?

Note – in Illinois it is also illegal to be caught with drug paraphernalia. In Illinois, possession of drug paraphernalia is a criminal offense. You could be arrested if you are found in possession even if there were no drugs on your person at the time of arrest.

Is paraphernalia legal in Illinois?

Not only is it illegal to possess certain drugs—except for cannabis—in Illinois, but you may face criminal charges for possessing drug paraphernalia, which includes equipment and materials used to manufacture, produce, harvest, store, test, conceal, inject, ingest, or use a controlled substance.

What is a Class 2 felony in Illinois?

In Illinois, aggravated criminal sexual abuse is charged as a Class 2 Felony. In addition to the sentence of 3-7 years in prison, an aggravated criminal sexual abuse conviction may only include the possibility of parole depending on the circumstances of the case.

How long do police have to file drug charges in Illinois?

Generally, statutes of limitation are 18 months for misdemeanors and three years for felonies. However, there are some exceptions [720 ILCS 5/3-5]. When the police are seeking felony charges, the prosecutor is usually contacted to review the charges.

What are examples of paraphernalia?

Paraphernalia are personal belongings or the things that you need to do a task. An example of the paraphernalia of motherhood is baby bottles, car seats, strollers and diapers. (plural only) Miscellaneous items, especially the set of equipment required for a particular activity; stuff.

Is it illegal to have a bong in your car in Illinois?

Under Illinois Law, you cannot smoke marijuana in any motor vehicle.

Can you drive with a bong in the car?

California has legalized both medical marijuana and some recreational use of marijuana. And VC 23222(b) says that having it in your vehicle is only illegal “except as authorized by law.” So, if you are following the laws for medical marijuana or legal recreational marijuana, you should not be charged with this offense.