What are the 2 major vegetation zones in Nigeria?

What are the 2 major vegetation zones in Nigeria?

The ecological zones in Nigeria are based on Keay (1949), and are defined from South to North as follows: Mangrove Swamp and Coastal Vegetation, Freshwater Swamp Forest, Lowland Rain Forest, Derived Savanna, Guinea Savanna, Sudan Savanna, and Sahel Savanna.

What are the main vegetation zones?

There are five major vegetation regions: forest, grassland, tundra, desert, and ice sheet. altitude, soil, and precipitation region in which a plant best survives.

How many vegetation zones are in Nigeria?

The geographical area called Nigeria has a total land area of 983,213 km2 with over 180 million people living in it. The country is covered by three major types of vegetation which include forests, savannahs and montane land.

What are types of vegetation in Nigeria?

From south to north the vegetation can be broadly classified into coastal (mangrove, fresh water swamp), rain belt (rainforest), Guinea savanna (woodland and tall grass savanna, Montane), Sudan savanna (short grass savanna) and Sahel savanna (Maginal savanna) Source: CBN (Central Bank of Nigeria).

What is Nigerian vegetation?

Nigeria is covered by three types of vegetation: forests (where there is significant tree cover), savannahs (insignificant tree cover, with grasses and flowers located between trees), and montane land (least common and mainly found in the mountains near the Cameroon border.

What are the two main vegetation zones that cover most of Africa?

There are two forms of savanna. One is natural grassland. The other is grassland created by humans cutting forests over the last three thousand years. The grassla nd region of West Africa is often referred to as the Sudanic belt.

What are the types of vegetation in Nigeria?

What are the 11 vegetation zones?


  • Alpine and arctic tundra and ice.
  • Boreal forest.
  • Temperate deciduous forest and subtropical evergreen forest.
  • Temperate grasslands.
  • Desert and semidesert.
  • Tropical deciduous forest and savanna.
  • Tropical rainforest.

What is Nigeria vegetation?

What are the two distinct vegetation zones in West Africa?

From north to south — from the Sahara to the humid southern coast — West Africa can be subdivided into five broad east-west belts that characterize the climate and the vegetation. These are the bioclimatic zones known as the Saharan, Sahelian, Sudanian, Guinean, and Guineo-Congolian Regions, shown in the map above.

What are the different types of vegetation zones in Nigeria?

Types of Vegetation Zones in Nigeria. Forests. Forests are areas where there is significant tree cover. The forest zone is located in the southern part of Nigeria. They are identified with the mangrove swamps located around the delta region of River Niger and Cross River. At the northern part of this region is fresh water swamp.

Why is montane vegetation in Nigeria not very developed?

Montane vegetation in Nigeria (mountain and plateaus vegetation) is not very developed due to the reason of low average temperatures and the significant impact of animals and man. The Jos plateau is one of the highest points in Nigeria. This is grassland zone but the slopes are covered by forests.

What is west to East zonation patterns in Nigeria?

West to East zonation patterns in Nigeria is characterized by the clear transition between one belt and another. Nigeria currently has two broad belts of vegetation; however, there are other smaller belts like the isolated mountain vegetation of the high plateau regions.

What is the vegetation belt of Nigeria?

Vegetation usually depends on the climate zones of the country. Vegetation belts in Nigeria reflect the tight link between the vegetation and the country’s climate: Sudan Savanna. Below there is the map of Nigeria showing vegetation belts.