What is a Class 2 felony in Arizona?

What is a Class 2 felony in Arizona?

Class 2 felonies are the second-most severe type of criminal offense in Arizona. Convictions carry fines and typically up to 12 years and 6 months in prison. The sentencing can be up to 35 years if the crime was a dangerous offense, the defendant has a criminal record, and there were aggravating factors.

How much of your sentence do you serve in Arizona?

85 percent
Currently, Arizona prisoners must serve at least 85 percent of their sentences, with the remaining 15 percent served on community supervision.

What is the punishment for a Class 2 felony in Arizona?

A class 2 felony is one of the most serious categories of crimes in Arizona. In terms of severity, it is second only to murder. A class 2 felony is typically punishable by 3 to 35 years in prison, depending on the defendant’s past criminal history.

Is jail time mandatory for a felony in Arizona?

If you already have one felony on your record and are now charged with a second or third felony, you will face a mandatory prison sentence. Class 3 felony convictions carry penalties of 5 to 15 years in prison.

What does parole Class 2 mean in Arizona?


How long is life sentence in Arizona?

If a person is sentenced to “life imprisonment” they may actually not serve their entire life sentence. A life sentence carries with it the possibility for release after 25 years imprisonment (if the victim was 15 years or older); or 35 years (if the victim was under 15).

Does Arizona have the 3 strike law?

Although Arizona law provides for longer prison sentences for repetitive offenders, it does not have three strikes statutes.

Do felonies go away in Arizona?

In Arizona, charges, arrests, misdemeanors and felony convictions will stay on your record until they are expunged. In Arizona, expungement is called “motion to set aside.”

Can you work for the state of Arizona with a felony?

Arizona is joining more than two dozen other states in giving convicted felons a foot in the door for employment. In an executive order Monday, Gov. Doug Ducey directed state personnel officials to “ban the box,” eliminating any questions on initial job applications about whether a person has a criminal record.

Punishments include death or life imprisonment in case of first degree murder, or 16 years to life imprisonment for second degree murder. Class 2 felonies in Arizona have a presumptive term of 5 years. The aggravated term is 12.5 years. Child enticement and child pornography are considered class 2 felony crimes.

What is the presumptive term for a Class 3 felony in Arizona?

The presumptive term for class 3 felonies is three years and six months’ prison time. The aggravated term is eight years and nine months. Cultivation of four or more pounds of marijuana is a class 3 felony in Arizona. Class 4 felonies carry a presumptive term of two years and six months in prison.

What is a Class 5 felony in Arizona?

A Class 5 felony has a presumptive sentence of two years, and an aggravated term of two years and six months. Pimping and pandering, which is profiting from or facilitating the prostitution of others, are class 5 felonies. These are the least serious felonies in Arizona.

What is the minimum sentence for a felony in Arizona?

These are the least serious felonies in Arizona. The presumptive term for a Class 6 felony is one year in prison. The aggravated term is two years in prison.