What is the EAC Common Market Protocol?

What is the EAC Common Market Protocol?

The Common Market Protocol allows workers from any Partner State to ac- cept employment within any other EAC country. They cannot be discrimi- nated against on the basis of their nationality. Furthermore, a worker will have the right to social security benefits and can be accompanied by a spouse and child.

What is EAC structure?

The main Organs of the EAC are the Summit, the Council of Ministers, the Co-ordinating Committee, the Sectoral Committees, the East African Court of Justice, the East African Legislative Assembly and the Secretariat.

What is the Common Market for East African countries?

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is the largest regional economic organization in Africa, with 19 member states and a population of about 390 million. COMESA has a free trade area, with 19 member states, and launched a customs union in 2009.

Which common market replaced East Africa Community?

In 1967, the EACSO was superseded by the EAC. This body aimed to strengthen the ties between the members through a common market, a common customs tariff, and a range of public services to achieve balanced economic growth within the region.

What is the difference between common market and customs union?

A common market is an extension of the customs union concept, with the additional feature that it provides for the free movement of labour and capital among the members; an example was the Benelux common market until it was converted into an economic union in 1959.…

What is the difference between common market and economic union?

Common markets allow free passage of labour, capital, and other productive resources by reducing or eliminating internal tariffs on goods and by creating a common set of external tariffs. Economic unions closely coordinate the national economic policies of their member countries.…

Who established EAC?

Its headquarters are in Arusha, Tanzania. The first EAC, which succeeded the East African Common Services Organization on December 1, 1967, was established by the Treaty for East African Co-operation, signed in June 1967 by the presidents of Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.

What organ of the EAC was responsible for the day to day business?

The Council of Ministers (or simply, the Council) is the central decision-making and governing Organ of the EAC. Its membership constitutes Ministers or Cabinet Secretaries from the Partner States whose dockets are responsible for regional co-operation.

Why is the EAC called a Common Market?

EAC guides the free movement of goods, people, labour, services and capital from one Partner State to another as well as the rights of establishment and residence without restrictions.

What is EAC integration agenda?

The mission of the Community is to widen and deepen economic, political, social and cultural integration in order to improve the quality of life of the people of East Africa through increased competitiveness, value added production, trade and investments.

What are the challenges facing EAC?

Constraints and challenges of the EAC Agriculture sector

  • Poor Governance.
  • Inadequate legal and regulatory framework.
  • Insecurity.
  • Inadequate access to productive resources.
  • Inadequate participation of local communities.
  • Poor physical infrastructure and utilities.
  • Weak institutional framework.
  • Low public expenditure.

Why did Rwanda and Burundi join EAC?

Rwanda Prime Minister, Bernard Makuza, who represented President Paul Kagame, said his country was looking forward to join EAC, a move which would enable the EA region to benefit from Rwanda´s fast-growing economy.