Popular articles

What are the two types of Whipple procedures?

What are the two types of Whipple procedures?

There are two common types of Whipple procedures – the conventional Whipple and the pylorus-sparing Whipple. The conventional Whipple involves removal of the head of the pancreas, the duodenum, and a portion of the stomach, as well as the gallbladder and a portion of the bile duct.

What is removed in whipples procedure?

During this procedure, surgeons remove the head of the pancreas, most of the duodenum (a part of the small intestine), a portion of the bile duct, the gallbladder and associated lymph nodes. In some cases, the surgeon may remove the body of the pancreas, the entire duodenum and a portion of the stomach.

Do you need chemo after Whipple surgery?

You should be offered chemotherapy after surgery (such as the Whipple’s procedure) to try to reduce the chances of the cancer coming back. Gemcitabine with capecitabine (GemCap) is used most often after surgery.

Does the pancreas grow back after surgery?

We conclude that the human pancreas does not regenerate after partial anatomic (50%) resection.

What is a pancreatoduodenectomy?

Pancreatoduodenectomies are some of the longer intra-abdominal surgeries given the possibility of a challenging resection and the multiple anastomoses that follow. That which makes the surgeon’s life easier makes your life easier.

What is pancreatoduodenal resection (Whipple’s procedure)?

A pancreatoduodenal resection, Whipple’s procedure, is performed primarily to remove an adenocarcinoma in the head of the pancreas.

What are the different phases of a pancreas dissection?

There are two major phases of the procedure: the dissection of the pancreas and tumor from the remaining structures (most notably the portal vein, superior mesenteric vein and the superior mesenteric artery), and the re-anastomosis of those structures — i.e. a choledochojejunostomy, a gastrojejunostomy and a pancreaticojejunostomy.