What are the 9 divisions of the abdominal region?

These planes divide the abdomen into nine regions:

What are the 9 divisions of the abdominal region?

These planes divide the abdomen into nine regions:

  • Right hypochondriac.
  • Right lumbar (or flank)
  • Right illiac.
  • Epigastric.
  • Umbilical.
  • Hypogastric (or pubic)
  • Left hypochondriac.
  • Left lumbar (or flank)

What are the muscles of the abdominal region?

There are five main muscles in the abdomen:

  • External obliques.
  • Internal obliques.
  • Pyramidalis.
  • Rectus abdominis.
  • Transversus abdominis.

Why is it important to know the 9 regions of the abdomen?

Organs in the nine regions of the abdomen It is important to know the anatomical regions (and quadrants) of the abdomen to correlate the pain to the organs contained in each area. For example, pain within the epigastric region should guide you to think about the stomach, liver, pancreas, duodenum, and adrenal glands.

Where is the tip of the 9th costal cartilage?

The xiphoid. The costal margin extends from the 7th costal cartilage at the xiphoid to the tip of the 12th rib (although the latter is often difficult to feel); this margin bears a distinct step, which is the tip of the 9th costal cartilage.

How many regions are there in the abdominal?

9 separate regions
The abdomen has been bisected, trisected, and even divided into as many as 9 separate regions. The layers of the abdominal wall consist of the skin, superficial fascia, and muscles.

Where is Transpyloric line?

The transpyloric plane, also known as Addison’s plane, is an imaginary axial plane located midway between the jugular notch and superior border of pubic symphysis, at approximately the level of L1 vertebral body.

Where is the 6th rib located?

Locate the 6th intercostal space by counting parasternally from the clavicle or from the manubriosternal synchondrosis (→ 3.5). Follow the course of the intercostal space in a lateral direction and locate SP-21 on the axillary midline (note: the intercostal space laterally curves upward).

Where is the interspinous plane located?

a transverse plane passing through the anterior superior iliac spines; it marks the boundary between the lateral and umbilical regions superiorly and the inguinal and pubic regions inferiorly.