What are the 5 main regions of Spain?

What are the 5 main regions of Spain?

The regions, or autonomous communities, of Spain

Galicia Asturias & Cantabria Aragon
Castile & Leon, Navarra Castile la Mancha Catalonia
Extremadura Andalucia Valencia / Murcia

What is the northern region of Spain called?

Basque Country
Basque Country, Spanish País Vasco, Basque Euskadi or Euskal Herria, comunidad autónoma (autonomous community) and historic region of northern Spain encompassing the provincias (provinces) of Álava, Guipúzcoa, and Vizcaya (Biscay).

What cities are in north west Spain?

Cities and Towns in North-West Spain

  • Santiago de Compostela.
  • Fisterra.
  • A Coruña.
  • Oviedo.
  • Leon.

Where are the regions of Spain?

Autonomous communities

Autonomous community Capital Status
Catalonia Barcelona Nationality
Community of Madrid Madrid Region
Extremadura Mérida Region
Galicia Santiago de Compostela Nationality

What are the 15 major regions of Spain?

A Guide to the Regions of Spain

  • Asturias. Comprising just a single province of the same name, the region of Asturias is famous for its more than 200 miles of lush green coastline, known as the Costa Verde.
  • Pais Vasco (Basque Country)
  • Cantabria.
  • Castilla-La Mancha.
  • Castilla y Leon.
  • Catalonia.
  • Extremadura.
  • Galicia.

What are the eight regions of Spain?

Located in the central south of the Iberian peninsula lies the most populated autonomous community in Spain: Andalusia. The region consists of eight provinces, namely Almería, Granada, Jaén, Córdoba, Málaga, Seville, Cádiz, and Huelva, which borders Portugal in the west.

What regions are in northern Spain?

The North of Spain comprises of different regions (Comunidades Autónomas). In this post we will concentrate on the 4 regions which are located between the borders of France and Portugal: they are the Basque Country, Cantabria, Asturias, and Galicia.

In which region of Spain is Bilbao?

the Basque Country
Bilbao, port city, capital of Vizcaya provincia (province), in the comunidad autónoma (autonomous community) of the Basque Country, northern Spain. Bilbao lies along the mouth of the Nervión River, 7 miles (11 km) inland from the Bay of Biscay. It is the largest city in the Basque Country.

What is the Northwest of Spain called?

Galicia (/ɡəˈlɪʃ(i)ə/; Galician: Galicia [ɡaˈliθjɐ] or Galiza [ɡaˈliθɐ]; Spanish: Galicia; Portuguese: Galiza) is an autonomous community of Spain and historic nationality under Spanish law. Located in the northwest Iberian Peninsula, it includes the provinces of A Coruña, Lugo, Ourense and Pontevedra.

What cities belong to central Spain & Northern Spain?

Five Best Cities in Northern Spain

  1. San Sebastián. The crown jewel of northern Spain, San Sebastián on the Basque Coast is world-famous for its beautiful architecture, stunning beaches, and most importantly, its fine dining.
  2. Santiago de Compostela.
  3. Logroño.
  4. Zaragoza.
  5. Bilbao.

How many regions is Spain divided into?

17 Autonomous Regions
Spain’s regions offer a wealth of cultural and natural resources. There are 17 Autonomous Regions in total, and two Autonomous Cities: Ceuta and Melilla.

What are the names of the 17 regions in Spain?

Spain has 17 Autonomous Communities, they are:

  • Andalusia.
  • Catalonia.
  • Community of Madrid.
  • Valencian Community.
  • Galicia.
  • Castile and León.
  • Basque Country.
  • Castilla-La Mancha.

What are the regions of northwest Spain?

Northwest Spain Spain. Consisting mainly of the regions Galicia, Asturias, and Cantabria, Northwest Spain is very different from the rest of the nation. It is defined by rolling hills and green pastures of the countryside, a rugged coastline with its own unique spread of cuisine, and many notable sights like the cathedral Santiago de Compostela.

What are the regions of Asturias and Galicia?

Known as ‘Green Spain’, the regions of Asturias and Galicia (as well as parts of Castilla y Leon) are very, very different from the rest of Spain. Major cities and towns in North-West Spain, in order of ‘importance’ to the tourist:

What is there to do in northwest Spain?

Santander is the region’s capital with plenty to see and do with museums, parks, historic churches, beaches, and festivals. Depending on the region of Northwest Spain, activities vary to encompass just about everything.

What is the north coast of Spain known for?

And then there is the Cantabria region on Spain’s north coast, known for its mountains, cave paintings, and the city of Santander. Santander is the region’s capital with plenty to see and do with museums, parks, historic churches, beaches, and festivals.