Is coercion a crime in Oregon?

Is coercion a crime in Oregon?

(h) Unlawfully use or abuse the person’s position as a public servant by performing some act within or related to official duties, or by failing or refusing to perform an official duty, in such manner as to affect some person adversely. (2) Coercion is a Class C felony.

What’s a Class C felony in Oregon?

Oregon Felony Penalties

Class Maximum potential prison term Charges
Class A Felony 20 years First Degree Assault
Class B Felony 10 years Second Degree Assault, Drug Distribution (Cocaine)
Class C Felony 5 years Third Degree Assault, First Degree Theft, DUII Third Offense, Hit and Run Injury

What is a Class C misdemeanor in Oregon?

Under Oregon law, a Class C misdemeanor is punishable by up to 30 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,250, or both. Theft of property worth less than $100, for example, is a Class C misdemeanor.

How serious is a Class C felony in Oregon?

Class C Felonies A conviction for a Class C felony in Oregon can result in a maximum of five years in prison, a fine of as much as $125,000, or both.

What is coercion in Oregon?

1) A person commits the crime of. coercion when the person compels or induces an- other person to engage in conduct from which the. other person has a legal right to abstain, or to ab- stain from engaging in conduct in which the other.

How long does a Class C felony stay on your record in Oregon?

Oregon convictions are expungable if they are C Felonies or Misdemeanors and are at least 3 years old and the defendant has not been arrested since. If there have been additional arrests or convictions (here or in other states), it is a 10 year period.

What is a Class A violation in Oregon?

(b) The person is exceeding the speed limit by more than 10 miles per hour but not more than 20 miles per hour, the offense is a Class B traffic violation. (c) The person is exceeding the speed limit by more than 20 miles per hour, the offense is a Class A traffic violation.

Do misdemeanors go away in Oregon?

Your type of conviction or arrest is legally eligible for expungement. In the state of Oregon, not every type of arrest and conviction is eligible for expungement. Types of cases that are eligible include: Drug possession and related crimes – Most misdemeanor drug charges and nearly all marijuana offenses are eligible.

What’s the worst kind of felony?

Classes of offenses under United States federal law

Type Class Maximum prison term
Felony A Life imprisonment (or death)
B 25 years or more
C Less than 25 years but 10 or more years
D Less than 10 years but 5 or more years

What are the types of coercion?

These actions may include extortion, blackmail, torture, threats to induce favors, or even sexual assault. In law, coercion is codified as a duress crime. Such actions are used as leverage, to force the victim to act in a way contrary to their own interests.

What is a coercion charge?

The statutory definition of coercion is fairly uniform among the states: the use of intimidation or threats to force (or prevent) someone to do something they have a legal right to do (or not to do). Charges typically are enhanced if physical force was used or threatened.

What is the sentence for a Class B felony in Oregon?

Because a Class B felony can carry up to 10 years in prison, this means it could also carry 1 year or 5 years. How the judge determines where at in a range to sentence you is based largely on a presentence report. A presentence investigation is completed by a probation officer employed by the state of Oregon.

What is the Oregon sentencing guideline?

That system was replaced in 1989 with the Oregon Sentencing Guideline. At the center of the Guidelines is the “grid. ” Each crime is given a “crime seriousness score” against the person’s criminal history score.

What is an indeterminate sentence in Oregon?

Prior to 1989, Oregon sentenced people to “indeterminate” sentences. That is, that the sentence was the maximum you could serve, but when you went off to jail it was unclear what your actual sentence would be.

How much is a fine for a felony in Oregon?

In addition to, or instead of, a prison sentence, an Oregon court can also sentence someone convicted of a felony offense to a fine. Like prison sentences, fines also differ depending on the class of the felony. Class A felony: up to $375,000. Class B felony: up to $250,000. Class C felony: up to $125,000.